Foxy Brown Biography: Age, Education, Career

2 minutes, 45 seconds Read

Inga DeCarlo Fung Marchand (born September 6, 1978) known professionally by the stage name Foxy Brown is an American rapper, singer, songwriter, and actress.

She is famously known for her solo work and her collaborations with other artists, including with her former group, the Firm.

She has released several albums, including Ill Na Na in 1996 and Broken Silence in 2001.


Real Facts About Foxy Brown

  • Full Name: Inga DeCarlo Fung Marchand
  • Stage Name: Foxy Brown
  • Born: 6 September 1978
  • Age: 44 years old (2022)
  • Place of Birth: Brooklyn, New York, United States
  • Nationality: American
  • Parents: Keith Stahler, Judith Marchand
  • Siblings: Pretty Boy, Anton Marchand
  • Husband: Ricardo Brown (1999-2000)
  • Children: Baby C
  • Occupation: Rapper • Actress
  • Net Worth: N/A


Early Life & Education

Inga DeCarlo Fung Marchand was born on September 6 1978 in Brooklyn, New York, where she was raised alongside her sibling brothers Pretty Boy and Anton Marchand.

Her father, Keith Stahler, an Afro-Trinidian who worked as a mechanic, and her mother, Judith Marchand, Indo-Trinidadian, was an African-American Brooklyn native. She also has Chinese-Trinidadian roots.

Her parents got divorced when she was four years old. As a result, she and the rest of the family moved in with their maternal grandfather.

She had her education at Brooklyn College Academy.


Foxy Brown won a talent contest in the Park Slope section of Brooklyn, New York. Members of the production team Trackmasters, who were working on LL Cool J‘s Mr. Smith album, were present and were sufficiently impressed to invite her to rap on I Shot Ya.

She followed this debut with appearances on several RIAA platinum and gold singles from other artists, including song remixes. You’re Makin’ Me High by Toni Braxton.

Foxy Brown also appeared on the soundtrack for the 1996 film The Nutty Professor, performing on the songs Touch Me Tease Me by Case and Ain’t No Nigga by Jay-Z. She became an overnight sensation due to her extraordinary talent and provocative rapping at such a young age.

Early in 1996, the rapper’s instant popularity sparked a label bidding war, and in March 1996, Def Jam Records triumphed and signed the then-17-year-old rapper to their catalog.

Foxy Brown launched her debut album Ill Na Na to strong sales in 1996. It debuted at No. 7 on the Billboard 200 album charts after selling over 128,000 copies in its first week of release.

The album was produced mainly by Trackmasters and features Jay-Z, Backstreet Boys, Method Man, and Kid Capri as guest artists. Two successful singles were released from the platinum-certified album: Get Me Home (with Blackstreet) and I’ll Be (featuring Jay-Z).

Foxy Brown began recording in late 2004 after quitting Def Jam Recordings due to her disappointment about the shelved promotion of her studio album Ill Na Na 2: The Fever. She reconnected with Jay-Z months after participating in his Best of Both Worlds Tours.

After re-signing with Def Jam under his leadership, Foxy Brown and Jay-Z started working on Black Roses with production from The Neptunes, Kanye West, Timbaland, and Dave Kelly.


  • Woo
  • Fade to Black


  • I’ll Be
  • Get Me Home
  • Oh Yeah
  • Thong Song
  • Tables Will Turn
  • I can’t
  • Hot Spot
  • Ain’t No ****
  • Firm Fiasco
  • Firm Biz
  • Candy
  • I’m Leaving
  • Letter To The Firm
  • Baby, Can I Hold You Tonight?
  • Executive Decision
  • Come Fly With Me
  • Hood Scriptures
  • Na Be Like


Similar Posts