Summer Walker Biography: Age, Education, Career

3 minutes, 30 seconds Read

Summer Marjani Walker (born April 11, 1996) famously addressed as Summer Walker is a creative American singer, songwriter, and record producer.

She was signed to LVRN/Interscope Records and released her debut album, Last Day of Summer, on October 19, 2018. The album reached number 17 on the Billboard 200 chart.


Facts About Summer Walker

  • Full Name: Summer Marjani Walker
  • Stage Name: Summer Walker
  • Born: 11 April 1996
  • Age: 26 years old
  • Place of Birth: Atlanta, Georgia, United States
  • Nationality: American
  • Parents: Sheila Walker, Curtis Walker
  • Siblings: Venice Brinkley Walker
  • Partner: LVRD Pharaoh (2021-2022)
  • Children: Princess Bubbles Holmes
  • Occupation: Singer • Songwriter
  • Net Worth: N/A


Early Life & Education

Summer Walker, a veritable prodigy hailing from the bustling metropolis of Atlanta, Georgia, was born on April 11th, 1996.

She was raised by her mother, Sheila Walker, and her stepfather, Curtis Walker, along with her three older sisters, one of whom is Venice Brinkley Walker.

In her adolescence, she furthered her talents by joining the esteemed choir at North Spring High School and participating in a plethora of talent shows.

After graduating with top honors, Summer Walker enrolled at Berklee College of Music in Boston, Massachusetts, before transferring to Georgia State University.



Summer Walker, a prodigious talent hailing from the vibrant city of Atlanta, Georgia, was discovered by a serendipitous encounter with a fellow namedropper, who happened to serve as the studio manager for the esteemed Love Renaissance label.

In 2018, she released her first commercial mixtape, Last Day of Summer, featuring the single Girls Need Love and showcasing her soulful musings on love, uncertainty, and womanhood.

The mixtape’s widespread acclaim led to her embarking on the From East Atlanta With Love Tour with fellow crooner 6LACK.

In the following year, Apple Music, the undisputed arbiters of taste in the music industry, anointed her their newest Up Next artist, propelling her to the lofty heights of being the eighth most famous R&B artist on their platform globally.

On January 25, 2019, Summer Walker released her debut EP, Clear, a collection of four stripped-down acoustic tracks that further solidified her reputation as a trailblazing artist. She also released a remix of her single Girls Need Love featuring the megastar Drake, adding further fuel to the fire of her rapidly ascending career.

Summer Walker made waves in the music world in 2019 with the release of her debut single, Playing Games, from her highly anticipated debut studio album, Over It. The song, produced by the inimitable London on da Track, featured an inspired interpolation of Destiny’s Child‘s timeless classic, Say My Name.

On September 12, she unveiled the album’s release date, October 4, via LVRN and Interscope, along with providing the arresting cover art.

Upon its release, Over It soared to the second spot on the US Billboard 200, with initial sales of 134,000 copies, making it the most successful debut week for a female R&B singer in terms of on-demand audio streams.

The album also claimed the top spot on the R&B Albums chart for a staggering 14 nonconsecutive weeks and continues to be lauded by critics and fans alike.

In November 2019, Summer Walker, a veritable prodigy in the realm of R&B, won her first Soul Train Music Award for Best New Artist. However, she was met with a backlash from fans for her terse acceptance speech, with many accusing her of feigning her social anxiety.

In the early months of the following year, Summer Walker joined forces with the acclaimed rapper 21 Savage on the song Secret and also lent her vocals to Justin Bieber‘s remix of Yummy. In April, she was featured on Khalid‘s remix of Eleven.

On June 29th, she unveiled the forthcoming release of her EP, Life on Earth, set to be published on July 10th. This announcement came hot on the heels of her electrifying performance of Session 32 and Come Thru with Usher at the BET Awards, where she was nominated for Best New Artist and Best Female R&B/Pop Artist.

Life on Earth debuted at the summit of the Top R&B Albums chart, securing Summer Walker‘s second consecutive number-one album. It also entered the Billboard 200 at number 8, making it her second top 10 albums.

Similar Posts